Here’s a list of the local, state, and national elected officials who make decisions about your gifted student. Get to know them!

School District:

The State of Texas:

Texas House Public Education Committee:

Copy and paste email addresses:  dan.huberty@house.texas.gov, diego.bernal@house.texas.gov, alma.allen@house.texas.gov, steve.allison@house.texas.gov, trent.ashby@house.texas.gov, keith.bell@house.texas.gov, harold.dutton@house.texas.gov, mary.gonzalez@house.texas.gov, ken.king@house.texas.gov, morgan.meyer@house.texas.gov, james.talarico@house.texas.gov, gary.vandeaver@house.texas.gov

  • Rep. Dan Huberty, Chair (R-Houston) dan.huberty@house.texas.gov 512-463-0520
  • Rep. Diego Bernal, Vice Chair (D-San Antonio) diego.bernal@house.texas.gov 512-463-0532
  • Rep. Alma Allen (D-Houston) alma.allen@house.texas.gov 512-463-0744
  • Rep. Steve Allison (R-San Antonio) steve.allison@house.texas.gov 512-463-0686
  • Rep. Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin) trent.ashby@house.texas.gov 512-463-0508
  • Rep. Keith Bell (R-Forney) keith.bell@house.texas.gov 512-463-0458
  • Rep. Harold Dutton, Jr. (D-Houston) harold.dutton@house.texas.gov 512-463-0510
  • Rep. Mary Gonzalez (D-Clint) mary.gonzalez@house.texas.gov 512-463-0613
  • Rep. Ken King (R-Canadian) ken.king@house.texas.gov 512-463-0738
  • Rep. Morgan Meyer (R-Dallas) morgan.meyer@house.texas.gov 512-463-0367
  • Rep. Scott Sanford (R-McKinney) scott.sanford@house.texas.gov 512-463-0356
  • Rep. James Talarico (D-Round Rock) james.talarico@house.texas.gov 512-463-0670
  • Rep. Gary VanDeaver (R-New Boston) gary.vandeaver@house.texas.gov 512-463-0692

Texas House of Representatives:

Below, click on the heading name of the district to view a map.

Texas Senate:

  • Texas Senate District 9
    • Senator Kelly Hancock, (512) 463-0109 (817) 514-3804
      kelly.hancock@senate.texas.gov
      Twitter @KHancock4TX
  • Texas Senate District 10
    • Senator Beverly Powell – appointed to the Texas Senate Education Committee
      512-463-0110
      beverly.powell@senate.texas.gov
      Twitter @beverlypowelltx
  • Texas Senate District 12
    • Senator Jane Nelson
      (512) 463-0112, (817) 424-3446
      jane.nelson@senate.texas.gov
      Twitter @SenJaneNelson

GCISD-area Texas Senators: beverly.powell@senate.texas.gov, jane.nelson@senate.texas.gov,  kelly.hancock@senate.texas.gov

Texas Senate Education Committee: larry.taylor@senate.texas.gov, eddie.lucio@senate.texas.gov, Paul.Bettencourt@senate.texas.gov, donna.campbell@senate.texas.gov, pat.fallon@senate.texas.gov, bob.hall@senate.texas.gov, bryan.hughes@senate.texas.gov, angela.paxton@senate.texas.gov, beverly.powell@senate.texas.gov, kirk.watson@senate.texas.gov, royce.west@senate.texas.gov,

State Board of Education:

  • Patricia Hardy, (817) 598-2968, sboesupport@tea.texas.gov, @teainfo ‏

Texas Senate Education Committee:

Copy and paste email addresses: 

larry.taylor@senate.texas.gov, eddie.lucio@senate.texas.gov, Paul.Bettencourt@senate.texas.gov, donna.campbell@senate.texas.gov, pat.fallon@senate.texas.gov, bob.hall@senate.texas.gov, bryan.hughes@senate.texas.gov, angela.paxton@senate.texas.gov, beverly.powell@senate.texas.gov, kirk.watson@senate.texas.gov, royce.west@senate.texas.gov,

Chair of the Senate Education Committee:

Chair Larry Taylor
(512) 463-0111 or (281) 485-9800
larry.taylor@senate.texas.gov
@SenLarryTaylor ‏
http://www.senate.texas.gov/member.php?d=11

Vice Chair Eddie Lucio, Jr.
(512) 463-0127 or (956) 548-0227
eddie.lucio@senate.texas.gov
@SenatorLucio ‏
http://www.senate.texas.gov/member.php?d=27&lang=en

Texas Education Agency (TEA): Texas Commission on Public School Finance

Official commission web page and email address: schoolfinancecommission@tea.texas.gov

Sign up for updates from the Texas Education Agency.